The preliminary program will be announced on the 15th April 2020. The final program will be announced on the 31st May 2020. 

Special Issues 

A selected amount of papers will be proposed for publication in selected tribology journals: Wear (Elsevier), Friction (Springer), The Finnish Tribology Journal.

Keynote and invited speakers

This year’s conference will be devoted to show the impact of women in tribology. 

Assoc. Prof. Maria Clelia Righi – Keynote speaker (PLENARY)

Title of presentation: “Advancing solid interfaces and lubricants by first principles material design”

Clelia Righi is Associate Professor at the University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, where she coordinates a research line on computational materials and tribology. Her background is in computational material science, surface/interface physics and nanoscience. She is presently visiting professor at the Imperial College London and scientific advisor for Total industry. She is part of the editorial boards Scientific Report, Lubricants, Lubrication Science, and Coatings.

Assoc. Prof. Rosa María Espinosa Marzal – Keynote speaker (PLENARY)

Title of presentation: “Correlation between the adsorption and the nanotribological performance of fatty acid and amine based organic friction modifiers on steel surfaces”

Associate Professor at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC) since 2013 in the departments of Materials Science and Engineering and Civil and Environmental Engineering. In 2016, she was awarded Associate to the Center for Advanced Study at UIUC to recognize her work on ionic liquids under confinement, and in 2019 she received the Deans Award for Excellence in Research. Dr. Espinosa-Marzal has a Ph.D. in materials engineering from Hamburg University of Technology (Germany). Since 2016, she serves as member of the executive committee of the Division of Colloids and Surface Chemistry at the American Chemical Society in the role of membership secretary.

Prof. Jayashree Bijwe – Keynote speaker (PLENARY)

Title of presentation: “Polymer tribology”

Professor Jayashree Bijwe obtained her  Ph.D (Tribology of polymer composites) in 1989 from IIT Delhi. She became a full professor in 2006 and HAG professor in 2013. She is a Reliance Chair Professor since 2016. She has guided 16 PhDs and 65 M Tech theses. She has also received a FITT award for guidance of best PhD thesis of Industrial relevance in 2008 by IIT Delhi. Serving as a PAC member of Subject Expert Committee (SEC) in Engineering Sciences Women Scientist Scheme since 2010 and Scheme for Young Scientists and Technologists Since 2016 among others. Currently she serves/has served as Editorial Board Member of: Wear (Elsevier) (2007-2015), Industrial Lubrication & Tribology (Emerald) since 2004, Recent Patents on Engineering-(Bentham Science Publishers Ltd) 2006-2012, ISRN Tribology; International Scholarly Research Network- Hindawi Publishing Corporation Since March 2012, Surface Topography: Metrology and Properties (STMP) (IOP publisher UK) since 2015.

Prof. Anna Igual Muñoz – invited speaker

Title of presentation: “Tribocorrosion solutions: the only way to mitigate the consequences of systems subjected to wear and corrosion interaction”

Anna Igual Munoz is Professor at the Technical University of Valencia (UPV, Spain) in the Chemical and Nuclear engineering department and at present in a sabbatical period at Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) in the Tribology and Interfacial Chemistry lab (TIC). Her scientific interests are mainly focused in the understanding the interactions (chemical, mechanical and biological) between materials and surfaces (mainly metals and oxides) with the environment. Mainly in the fields of corrosion, tribology and new functional coatings.

Dr. Ulrike Cihak-Bayr – invited speaker

Title of presentation: “Near Surface Microstructural Development of FCC Alloys in Sliding Contacts: An Experimental Study of Loading Conditions and Effects on Performance”

Ulrike Cihak-Bayr is a key-researcher for materials tribology and simulation at AC2T research, a private tribology research centre. She gained her PhD in material science  in the field of microstructure simulation and residual stress measurements. Joining AC2T research she now applies her analytical and simulation knowledge to tribology and is involved in the EU project i-tribomat. Her scientific interests are mainly focused on the understanding of microstructural material changes in tribological sliding contacts and the prediction of material behaviour via numerical simulation methods of heterogeneous material structures and coatings. In 2019 she received an award from the Jacob Wallenberg Foundation.

Assist. Prof. Stefanie Hanke – invited speaker

Title of presentation: “Fundamental Investigations of Cavitation Damage Mechanisms using Single Laser-Induced Bubbles”

Stefanie Hanke is a researcher and lecturer at University Duisburg-Essen, Germany, in the field of Materials Science, Tribology and Failure Analysis in Mechanical Engineering. She completed her Ph.D. in 2014, studying the effect of thermomechanical microstructure modifications on the tribological behavior of various metal alloys. As post-doctoral scientist, she headed a research group for surface modification by solid state joining techniques at Helmholtz Center Geesthacht, Germany. Back at University Duisburg-Essen since February 2017, she is now head of the research department of Materials Science in Mechanical Engineering. The group is focused on the correlation of microstructural mechanisms of damage accumulation and failure initiation, both under fatigue and tribological loading.

Dr. Kerstin Falk – invited speaker

Title of presentation: “Recent advances in understanding lubricant rheology based on molecular dynamics”

Kerstin Falk is a senior scientist at the Fraunhofer Institute for Mechanics of Materials IWM in Freiburg, Germany. Her expertise is the atomic-scale modelling of liquids and nanofluidic systems. She holds a joint Ph.D. in physics from the universities of Lyon, France, and Erlangen, Germany (2011). Prior to joining IWM in 2014, she was a postdoctoral associate in the Department of Civil and Environmental engineering at MIT, Cambridge, US.

Dr. Kati Valtonen – invited speaker

Title of presentation: “Experimental studies of high stress abrasive and impact-abrasive wear”

Kati Valtonen works currently as a Staff Scientist at the Faculty of Engineering and Natural Sciences of Tampere University. She is responsible for the research services and infrastructure of Tampere Wear Center. She is also the coordinator of the Wear Forum, which is a collaboration network between TWC, research institutes, and companies. Since 2012, she has acted as an editor for the Finnish Journal of Tribology.

Dr. Liran Ma – invited speaker

Title of presentation: “Exploring the Molecular behaviors of lubrication and friction”

Liran MA, Ph.D, Associate Professor, China Young Chang Jiang Scholar. She received her Ph.D in 2010 in department of precision instrument and mechanology from Tsinghua University (China). Following a postdoctoral period at the Weizmann Institute of Science in Israel, she is now working as an Associate Professor in State Key Laboratory of Tribology, Tsinghua University. She has received several academic Awards since 2011 successively, such as Hiwin Doctoral Dissertation Award, Maple leaf award for Young Tribologist, and has been named as the Young Chang Jiang Scholar in 2015.